Who is the opposing party in Canada?

The current Official Opposition is the caucus of the Conservative Party, assuming the role following the 2015 federal election. The Opposition is led by Erin O’Toole, who took office as leader in 2020 following the Conservative’s leadership race.

Who is the Opposition party in Canada 2021?

The current Opposition leader is Erin O’Toole, who took office following his election as leader of the Conservative Party of Canada on August 24, 2020.

Who is the current Opposition party?

State and territory opposition

State/territory Opposition party/coalition Leader of the Opposition
Australian Capital Territory Liberal Elizabeth Lee
New South Wales Labor Chris Minns
Northern Territory Country Liberal Lia Finocchiaro
Queensland Liberal National David Crisafulli

Who is the Opposition party in Ontario?

The Official Opposition, and the only other recognized party, is the Ontario New Democratic Party led by Andrea Horwath.

What are the parties in Canada?

Five parties had representatives elected to the federal parliament in the 2021 election: the Liberal Party who currently form the government, the Conservative Party who are the Official Opposition, the New Democratic Party, the Bloc Québécois, and the Green Party of Canada.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who is a tax resident of Canada?

Who is the leader of the official opposition in Ontario and which political party do they represent?

The current Leader of the Opposition is Andrea Horwath, leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party, because the NDP won the second largest number of seats as a result of the 2018 election. This is the fifth time the CCF/NDP has formed Ontario’s official opposition, and the first time since the 1987 general election.

Who runs Ontario?

Doug Ford is the 26th and current premier of Ontario.

Premier of Ontario
Incumbent Doug Ford since June 29, 2018
Government of Ontario
Style The Honourable (formal) Premier (informal)
Status Head of Government

Who called oppositions?

Official Opposition is a term used in Parliament of India and State Legislatures to designate the political party which has secured the second largest number of seats in either upper or lower houses.

Who is called the leader of opposition?

The leader of the opposition is a title traditionally held by the leader of the largest party not in government in a parliamentary democracy.

Who is the current leader of the opposition?

Leader of the Opposition (India)

Leaders of the Opposition of India
Bhārata ke Vipakṣa ke Netā
Emblem of India
Incumbent Mallikarjun Kharge (in Rajya Sabha) Vacant (in Lok Sabha)
Residence New Delhi

What is the role of the opposition parties?

The Opposition’s main role is to question the government of the day and hold them accountable. … The Opposition also utilises the media to reach the electorate with its views and to establish an identity as an alternative government.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: What is a summary conviction offence in Canada?

Who is the opposition party in BC?

The British Columbia Liberal Party (also referred to as the BC Liberals) is a centre-right provincial political party in British Columbia, Canada. The party currently forms the Official Opposition. The leader of the Liberal Party, and Leader of the Official Opposition of British Columbia, is Andrew Wilkinson.

Who is the leader of Canada?

Justin Trudeau is the 23rd and current prime minister of Canada. He took office on November 4, 2015, following the 2015 federal election where his Liberal Party won a majority of seats and was invited to form the 29th Canadian Ministry.

What are the 4 main political parties?


  • 1 Democratic Party.
  • 2 Republican Party.
  • 3 Independents.
  • 4 See also.
  • 5 References.