Frequent question: What are regional health authorities in Canada?

Health regions, also called health authorities, are a governance model used by Canada’s provincial and territorial governments to administer and deliver public health care to all Canadian residents. Health care is designated a provincial responsibility under the separation of powers in Canada’s federal system.

What are regional health authorities Ontario?

All 34 Public Health Units in Ontario:

  • Algoma Public Health.
  • Brant County Health Unit.
  • Chatham-Kent Public Health.
  • Durham Region Health Department.
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit.
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit.
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit.
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit.

How many health authorities are there in Canada?

The five regional health authorities govern, plan and deliver health-care services within their geographic areas. They are responsible for: Identifying population health needs.

What is considered a health authority?

Health Authority means that individual or agency that is designated with responsibility for health care policy pursuant to a written agreement, contract or job description. The health authority may be a physician, an individual or a health agency.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Where do Canadians go to live in Florida?

What are the 5 regional health authorities in BC?

Five regional health authorities deliver health services to meet the needs of the population within their respective geographic regions:

  • Fraser Health Authority (FHA)
  • Interior Health Authority (IHA)
  • Northern Health Authority (NHA)
  • Vancouver Island Health Authority (VIHA)
  • Vancouver Coastal Health Authority (VCHA)

How many regional health authorities are there in Ontario?

Table 6 Health regions in Canada – by province and territory

Province 2014
Health regions and maps Units
Ontario Local Health Integration Networks (LHIN) 14
Manitoba Regional Health Authorities 5
Saskatchewan Note2 Regional Health Authorities 13

What are the 7 Northern Ontario health units?

Northern Ontario Health Units

  • 1) Northwestern Health Unit.
  • 2) Thunder Bay District Health Unit.
  • 3) Sudbury & District Health Unit.

Who is the health authority in Canada?

The Public Health Agency of Canada is part of the federal health portfolio. Its activities focus on preventing disease and injuries, responding to public health threats, promoting good physical and mental health, and providing information to support informed decision making.

Who are public health authorities?

Public Health Partner Authorities are agencies which: Contribute to key priority areas within the State Public Health Plan, and those emerging through regional public health planning; Operate or impact at a state-wide or regional population level; and/or.

What health region is Squamish?

Electoral Areas C and D, the Village of Pemberton, the Resort Municipality of Whistler and the District of Squamish are part of the Vancouver Coastal Health Authority.

What health region is Sechelt in?

Sechelt (CHSA 3332) is 42 km² in size and located in the Sunshine Coast region of British Columbia.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How much sodium is in a 12 oz can of Canada Dry ginger ale?

Which cities are in Fraser health region?


Fraser North Fraser South Fraser East
Anmore Delta* Abbotsford*
Belcarra Langley* Agassiz
Burnaby* Surrey* Chilliwack*
Coquitlam White Rock* Harrison Hot Springs

What public health region is Toronto in?

Public Health Units

Central Newmarket Toronto York Region Public Health Services Toronto Public Health
Toronto Central Toronto Toronto Public Health
Waterloo Wellington Fergus Owen Sound Waterloo Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Health Unit Grey Bruce Health Unit Region of Waterloo, Public Health

What are the regions of BC?

The province of British Columbia, Canada has six distinct regions; Vancouver Island, Vancouver Coast & Mountains, Thompson Okanagan, Kootenay Rockies, Northern British Columbia, which includes Haida Gwaii, and the Cariboo, Chilcotin, Coast region.

What health region is Burnaby?

(Photo credit: Province of B.C.) In Burnaby, Fraser Health provides its services within the ancestral, traditional and unceded shared territories of the Squamish, Musqueam and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations. Fraser Health is responsible for providing quality health care services to the people of Burnaby.